Deschutes Collaborative Members

Deschutes Collaborative Members

dcfp-group-bachelorThe Deschutes Collaborative Forest Project is working to put mistrust, and past conflict behind us—and pick up the quality, pace and scale of forest restoration projects in the dry fire-adapted forests of Central Oregon. Our diverse membership brings a full range of community values and interests to the table. Together we promote outcomes such as job creation in the recreation and forestry sectors, healthier forests, cleaner water, and safer communities.

Steering Committee

The Deschutes Collaborative Forest Project (DCFP) is guided by a 19-member Steering Committee made up of diverse interested community members. The Steering Committee does not actively manage the 250,000+ acre DCFP landscape itself but strives to develop consensus recommendations which are then forwarded to the Deschutes National Forest with the full support of the Collaborative. In addition to the Steering Committee, we rely on leadership and operational capacity from dedicated partners including the Central Oregon Intergovernmental Council, The Nature Conservancy, Oregon State University Extension Service, Deschutes County and Project Wildfire, and the Oregon Department of Forestry.

The Deschutes National Forest has committed to integrating collaborative recommendations into management activities. The Steering Committee oversees the Deschutes Collaborative Forest Project's restoration strategy and helps to prioritize and endorse restoration and outreach activities. The Steering Committee is the formal channel for the Collaborative to provide input to the US Forest Service on management decisions within the DCFP Landscape including, but not limited to, fund allocation and restoration approaches.

Steering Committee members:

Forest Products Industry
John Williams, Quicksilver Contracting
Ed Coates, Gilchrist Forest Products
Marilyn Miller, Miller Conservation Consulting
David Stowe, Yiamist Ventures
Community Wildfire Protection
Ed Keith, Project Wildfire
Bob Madden, Central Oregon Fire Chiefs
Watershed / Water Resources
Rod Bonacker, Deschutes Land Trust
Corey Heath, Oregon Depart. of Fish & Wildlife
Local Government
Sally Russell, Bend City Council
Phil Chang, Deschutes County
State & Federal Agency
Bridget Moran, U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service
Ben Dude, Oregon Dept. of Forestry
Recreation / Tourism
Melanie Fisher, Central Oregon Trail Alliance
Jana Johnson, Deschutes Trails Coalition
Private Landowners
Chris Johnson, Whitefish Cascade Forest Resources
At Large
Glen Ardt, Oregon Dept. of Fish & Wildlife (retired)
Loren Kellogg, OSU College of Forestry (retired)